Dr Jens Zimmermann

Master in Business Administration

Born on 9 September 1981 in Groß-Umstadt; Protestant.

Attended Max Planck academic secondary school and obtained *Abitur* (higher-education entrance qualification) in 2001; completed civilian service in ambulatory care from 2001 to 2002; studied business administration at the Catholic University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt and at Regent's College London from 2002 to 2007, graduating as a business administrator; PhD student at the Department of Service Management from 2007 to 2013; wrote doctoral thesis on the subject of status and customer loyalty under the supervision of Prof. Bernd Strauss to gain the title of Dr. rer. pol. with magna cum laude.

Worked for various companies and institutions from 2002 to 2007 and as a junior research assistant; worked as a research assistant in the Department of Service Management at the Catholic University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt from 2007 to 2011; subsequently worked as a freelance lecturer and consultant.

Member of many organisations including the Social Democratic Party of Germany (SPD), the Building, Agricultural and Environmental Workers' Union, the Central Association of German Chimney Sweeps, the German Association of Political and Business Economists; the German Alpine Club, and INKontakt, the alumni association of the faculty of business administration at the Catholic University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt.

Member of Groß-Umstadt town council since 2006; member of the executive committee of the Darmstadt-Dieburg subdistrict branch of the SPD; member of the advisory council of the Hesse-South district branch of the SPD; delegate of the Hesse-South branch of the SPD to the federal party conference and party convention.

Member of the German Bundestag since 2013.

Membership of Bundestag bodies and parliamentary posts

Member

- Finance Committee
- Chairman of the SPD-Group in the Committee on the Digital Agenda

Main Topics: Anti-Money-Laundering and Terrorist Financing, Regulation of Payment Services and Fin-Techs

Posts

- Chairman of the of the working group of young MPs (under 40) of the SPD
- Deputy Chairman of the German-British Parliamentary Group